Kadambam – My Recipe Book

A collection of Vegetarian recipes

Unfortunate end to a wonderful summer!!!

Posted by Sneha on October 25, 2007

This was one summer we were looking forward to with much enthusiasm – my parents would be visiting us for a good 4 and a half months. And visit, they did, they landed here on the 23rd of May and we were all enjoying the togetherness, visiting places, eating mom’s tasty treats, my daughter happily playing with gramma and grandpa! What more could I want? Life was sooo good! But,the happiness was short lived! Unfortunately, on the 1st of Sept 2007, my dear dad, who was perfeclty normal and healthy, while chatting with us, had a sudden heart attack and he was gone in minutes! He had passed away before we knew what hit us!

Did he come all the way, crossing the mountains and oceans only to go back to the banks of the Cauvery in a box!!!????

This just doesnt seem right!

Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust(so say the elders)!!!!

Whats more scary is he made death look so easy! He was talking to us one moment and he’s gone the next???

Anxiously, I think, can I not go back in time and erase this one moment??? Could there have been something that we could have done to avoid this? Couldn’t he have lived atleast another 10 years? He was only 64!? How I wish this was all a bad dream? Couldn’t he……if only……why him…….I wish…….the thoughts are never ending….

But, the truth stares back at me! He’s gone, never to come back again!

I now see him, not walking and talking with us, but, in that picture, adorned with a garland!!! ANNA, I just dont understand as to what your hurry was to go and sit in a picture? Leaving us with all the emptiness in the world? This is just not fair!

With a heavy heart, I pray that His soul rests in peace ! I pray to my dad asking for his blessings!

I believe His guiding light lives on…….His spirit lives on……….His legacy lives on………And we (are trying to) live in his memories!

ANNA, we all love you and miss you soooo much!

31 Responses to “Unfortunate end to a wonderful summer!!!”

  1. Asha said

    OMG!!! Sneha, I am so sorry dear girl. It’s terrible, he was so young!! I dread to think how you all felt and what must your family and your mom have gone thru’!
    Hugs to you sweetie. May you all have the strength to cope with this and may your dad’s soul rest in peace.

  2. kribha said

    That’s very unfortunate Sneha. My deep condolences to you and your family. Hope everybody recovers soon. Hugs to you dear.

  3. TBC said

    That is really very tragic, Sneha. Please accept my condolences. May God give you and the family the strength to get through these tough times.

  4. Sarada said

    Sneha,

    My deep condolences to you and your family.
    Tears came in my eyes while reading your post. I also lost my father suddenly on Aug 17th 2006. The agony of losing one’s father is unexpressable and unbearable.

    I Pray that God gives you, your mother and other family members to cope up with this.

    Sarada

    Detroit

  5. Hi Sneha … My sincere condolences to your family. Hope the lord gives you enough courage to get back to your normal life, although it will never be the same.

  6. ruchii said

    Hi Sneha,
    Oh this is very sad and unfortunate.It must have been very hard for you and especially Navya and your mom. Will call you Sneha. Take care.

  7. OMG! What sad news! It is terrible when someone passes away so suddenly!:( My parents are nearing eighty and even a small ill health they suffer makes me cry for days! I always thought that we would accept their death easily! But our heart would’nt understand any of it!
    I know how terrible it is for you dear!
    May God give you strength to recover from this immeasurable loss!

  8. sandeepa said

    Sneha,
    I really don’t know what to say. It must have been so very sudden for you, I cannot even imagine, May God give you and your family all the strength and power. Look at this way, he was happy and fulfilled when thsi happened

  9. Archana said

    Sneha, i am really very sorry at your loss. May god’s peace be with your family

  10. Shella said

    Sneha it is so sad to loose a parent. I dread to think…. my condolences are with you. May God rest his soul in peace. He had to have been a very very good person, who passed away instantly. God bless you all.

  11. meeraghu said

    Hi Sneha,
    I came to your site just because my 15 year old daughters name is Sneha also. What a tragedy, Sneha. I pray to the Lord Almighty to give you and everyone in your family, especially your mother all the strength to overcome this tragedy.

    They say in kannada ” Thayigintha devarilla, Thandegintha Bandhuilla”. It means there isn’t no god above mom, and no relative like dad.

    May Lord Shri Hari bless you all.

  12. Meera said

    I am so sorry. May God give strength to you and your family.

    You and your family will be in my prayers! Take care

  13. Sheetal said

    Hi Sneha,
    Looking for recipes, I came to your blog and read about your dear dad. I am so sorry for ur loss. Parents are very dear to everybody, especially dads are very dear to girls. I can understand how u feel, just a thought of not having parents around me one day makes me very sad and uneasy. This is a very harsh reality of life one has to face.

    But if u look at it other way, u should be happy that he was with u and ur family having fun and enjoying his last moments. He came all the way to u, to be with u and have fun. He will always have his blessings and love shower upon u.

    Hope u will recover from this tragedy very soon. Take care of ur mom.

  14. RP said

    Oh dear! I don’t think I have been here before. Google brought me here while I was looking for something, and this is the first thing I read. I don’t know what to say. Just hoping and praying that you and family find enough strength to go through this stage. I feel that your father was one lucky person to be with all of you during his last moments. Take care. May God bless you all.

  15. Srivalli said

    Hi Sneha, I am so sorry to know this. Its so terrible, my deep condolences to you and your family. May you all have the strength to cope with this and may your dad’s soul rest in peace.

  16. Apu said

    Hi Sneha,
    Browsing through blogs this afternoon I found yours. My deepest condolences to you and your family.
    God Bless & hugs.

    Apu

  17. Mishmash! said

    Sneha, just followed the trail u left on my page and this is what I read…I had all the intuition that u re going to talk about something very tragic and yes it was !!! I really dont know what to say….hope u re slowly recovering…..my prayers are with you…hold on there!

    Shn
    P.S May be getting back to blogging might distract you from this mood….and glad u liked the cake.

  18. Mona said

    My deepest condolences to you and your family dear. May his soul rest in peace !

  19. Sangeetha said

    First time here and my heart sunk! I know how you exactly feel Sneha. You are a lucky daughter to have spent those last memorable moments with ur dad. Unlike me…..one evening i got a phone call from a neighbor in India giving me the horrible news and what’s worst is that we are thousands of miles away and by the time I reached India, everything was over….I never even got to see my dad, even today my eyes swell with tears. The only consolation was that I conceived withing the same year of my dad passing away and have a son, whom I believe is a reincarnation of my dear dad. So I truly believe that God opens another door when he closes one. My heartfelt condolences to you and your family. May God give you the strength to overcome this.

  20. GN said

    hi sneha,
    recently i visited ur blog and came back again today to look for some recipes but read ur msg and with a heavy heart im writing this.im really sorry for what happened to ur dad.try to think of the final days of his life he spent with u in ur place.may god give u and ur family all strength and courage to overcome this.

  21. Radha said

    Came here thru Aayis and was heart broken to know about u’r loss. I am extremely sorry. Atleast be happy that he was with u and enjoying ur company and having a nice timw with his grand daughter. In my case I had just delivered and had called up home(India) and gave the great news.This was in the morning and when I called in the evening I came to know that my mom was admitted in the hospital.After 10 days she passed away and in coma. It was a very difficult phase for me and I always wish that I could turn back the clock and everything would be normal.My mom never saw my daughter and now also I miss her a lot.

  22. Lakshmi said

    It is sad to know about your loss. My deepest condolences to you and your family. It is very late I know, still I felt like writing it.

  23. Srivalli said

    Sneha, I know the pain never goes..but hopefully you are little better now to start again??.

  24. Mala said

    Sneha,

    I was looking for some iyengar recipes and happened to get to your site. I am so very sorry to read about your Dad. Reading your post brought tears into my eyes , my dad was 67 and he passed away 4 years ago but I am still not able to get over it. I completely understand your feelings having been in your shoes. You were very lucky that you were with him during his last moments. I flew to India and my dear Appa was holding his last breath for me until I reached there. He passed away barely two hours after I reached there. How I wish he had come to visit me and stayed with me for a few days. I had no such luck.
    Again, I am very sorry for your loss.

  25. Dear Sneha,
    I am very sorry to hear about your father’s loss. I read somewhere that the best way to healing process and to commemorate your father is for you to pick one or two things that he did which you found good or endearing. Start doing that and you will feel so much better. You must get back to living your life.

    Please get back to your food blogging and surprise us with one more of your wonderful creations… soon…

    Love and best wishes,
    Anupama

  26. Trish said

    I am so sad to hear of your loss. I don’t know why or how I stumbled on your blog today…so much happened in your life…and now nearly 1 1/2 years later… Last year we were to gather also…for a grand family event…my mother had it planned….from her senior’s lodge she had us all committed to cooking the family favorites…I was to fly to join them all. But two days before, she passed away suddenly. Like the wind from our sails …lost….and directionaless…we gathered anyway…only now to bury her. I found comfort in returning home and really cooking, getting into things which she would have done so well…..I wish you all the best … hope you are healing wel.

  27. rini said

    I hope you are feeling lighter now, i felt so bad reading this. I’m young but not my parents, i always have this fear when it comes to them, just reading this got me teared up. I pray god to be with you whenever you are sad. Whenever you miss him, look to the sky, i bet he is watching over you from there!! All the best.

  28. You have got a great site. Would you be interested in contributing some of your recipes on our site? http://www.sfIndian.com?

    Thanks
    SFIndian.com

  29. Nagaraj R said

    Hello Sneha,

    Sorry for your loss! I hope your resume your blogging soon.
    Google brought me to this site and I liked reading your blog. Thank you.

    Regards, Nagaraj.

  30. Gayathri said

    Feel very sorry for your loss Sneha…
    Tears weld up in my eyes reading this post and all the comments above. Sometimes we get to know the importance of a person when he is not there.
    I would promise myself to take care of my parents and cherish each and every moment.

    Hope u are recovered from ur loss.

  31. Ash said

    I am so sorry for your loss, couldnt stop my tears reading this.
    Your father is in a better place now, at peace. That’s the only consolation.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

