Kadambam – My Recipe Book

A collection of Vegetarian recipes

‘No Grind’ Dosa

Posted by Sneha on January 17, 2007

Amidst all the Halloween Parties and Diwali potlucks, I just forgot its weekend already!!!! It was when I picked up my daughter from school, she said “Mommy, no homework for the weekend, YAY! I can watch TV!” thats when it hit me, that its Friday and I had forgotten to soak the rice and lentils for making Dosa, come Saturday morning!!!

 I have always made Dosa the traditional way, soak and grind method but now, I had to come up with something innovative. A quick look at the pantry, I was relieved to find Urad flour and Rice flour and this is what I did:

Ingredients

2 cups Urad flour
2 cups Rice flour
1 cup fine Rava, also called Chiroti Rava or Panipoori Rava
1 tsp methi powder
Salt to taste

Method
I combined all these toegther with water to make Dosa consistency batter. A hand mixer or blender is a great help here.
The Chiroti Rava helps give a crispy texture to the Dosa.
Then I kept the batter in the oven overnight and by morning, it was beautifully fermented and doubled in volume.

Make Dosas the usual way, comes out a nice golden brown and crisp. Serve with coconut chutney or onion chutney.

Here are some pics…..

dsc01470a.jpg

2 Responses to “‘No Grind’ Dosa”

  1. emehireect said

    Thanks !

  2. deepa said

    Hey i tried this dosa . It came out good but not crispy I think udad dal is extra in that we need to try with 1 cup of udad dal. Thanks for the recipe its good and quick

Leave a Reply

 
