Kadambam – My Recipe Book

A collection of Vegetarian recipes

Thothapuri Mavinakai/Mango Pickles

Posted by Sneha on February 13, 2007

This is one of my favorite, mouthwatering Thothapuri Mavinakai Pickle!!! Thothapuri, also called as KiLi Mooku manga (‘Cos, one end of the mango looks like parrot’s nose) in Tamil, is a kind of mango you get in Bangalore, probably in the neighboring places too, which kinda tastes a little sour and a little sweet and hence needs no marinating when used in dishes. Mavinakai , in Kannada simply means “Raw Mango”.

dsc011542c.jpg

 Here in the US, ofcourse, there is no Thothapuri :-(, but, most varieties we get here, are not too sour, thereby can be a good substitute for the great Thothapuri!!! I live in a place where it is really hard to see some nice raw mangoes. But, last week, it was a pleasant surprise when I walked into my local Indian grocery shop to find some good ones. So, here goes my first recipe – Thothapuri Mavinakai Pickle!

Ingredients

1 Big Raw Mango
4 tsps chilli powder
1/4 tsp dry roasted methi powder
Salt to taste
1 cup water
4 tbsp Oil
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
Pinch of Asafoetida (hing)

Method

1.Wash the mango and wipe it dry.
2.Chop the mango into smal,thin pieces.

dsc011573c.jpg

3. Sprinkle salt.
4. Boil the water, add chilli powder, boil for a minute more and switch off. (This should be a soupy consistency, not watery, if its too watery, feel free to add some more chilli powder).Pour it over the chopped mango.

dsc011592c.jpg

5. Sprinkle the methi powder on top.
6. Heat the oil, splutter mustard seeds, finally add asafoetida(hing) and pour over the mango.
7. Mix everything, adjust salt and spice, and its ready to eat.

dsc01162c.jpg

Keep refrigerated. Actually, tastes more divine after a couple of hours of refrigeration.

If the mango is absolutely not sour, you can add some vinegar to this, gives the much needed sourness as well as helps to preserve longer!

4 Responses to “Thothapuri Mavinakai/Mango Pickles”

  1. sandhya said

    Hi,
    Mangoes are always my favourite. Your mango pickle recipe is unique.It looks yummy. I have never heard of pouring in boiled water into the pickles. Neeru thakudhre booshla baruthe antha guthu but neeru boil madi hakudhre enu aagalva?

    Also can I use cucumbers instead of mangoes in this recipe.

  2. Sneha said

    Hi Sandhya,
    Welcome to my blog. Kannadadalli comment nodi khushi ayithu! Neeru boil madi hakidaroo, it does not have a very long shelf life! These are the kind they make in marriages and functions. It will definitely stay for a couple of weeks, refrigerated. I am such a big fan of these pickles and they are sooo yum, they never last for more than a week in my house! Try it, you will really enjoy them! WIth cucumber, I have never heard before. But, I’ve heard carrots being used instead of mangoes. Try and let me know.

  3. sandhya said

    Hi Sneha,
    Thanks for that quick response. I was also happy to see a blog that has recipes from my home state. I will definately try the pickle and let you know how it comes out. Keep up the good work!

  4. Shella said

    Sneha your pickle looks so fiery red & I am sure it is yummy. Mango pickes are my favorite

Leave a Reply

 
