Kadambam – My Recipe Book

A collection of Vegetarian recipes

Veggie Puffs

Posted by Sneha on February 15, 2007

When I think of my hometown Bangalore, the most memorable things regarding food that comes to mind is the Iyengar Bakery near my home, the vade bonda shop, which opens only in the evenings, Janata Hotel and Veena stores and the little roadside chat corners in Malleswaram. Even after being away from home for almost 10 years, the nostalgia only keeps growing! I am always trying to make the dishes just the way we get in these places! Never the same though, I keep going with the philosophy “something is better than nothing”!! Growing up, not a single day would have gone by when I didnt visit one of these shops. The closest one being the bakery, everyday in the afternoon, we were treated to this wonderful aroma from all the baking, tempting us to go get it straight from the oven. Most of the time, they would say “cant cut the bread, its too hot! ” Who cares?? All we need is the bread, cut or not! I had lots of favorites from this bakery, one of them being the Vegetable puffs!

I know there are 100s of recipes on the net with the potato filling. But, this bakery never put the potato filling in it. So, I kept searching and kept thinking….finally, just going by my hunch and trying to recollect the stuffing from “my bakery” ;-), I came up with this recipe.

img_1981mark.jpg

Ingredients:

Pepperidge farm puff pastry sheets
Onions – 1 big
tomatoes – 3 med
1 carrot , grated
green chillies – 6
1/4 tsp jeera for seasoning
coriander leaves for garnish
Salt to taste

Method:

Heat oil, add jeera and then add the onions and saute till the raw smell goes.
Then add green chillies, finely chopped tomatoes and grated carrots.
Saute for about 5 mins, or until everything is cooked and comes together.
Garnish with coriander leaves.
Take off the heat and let cool.

Roll out the pastry sheets and cut them into small rectangles. (about 2 inch x 2inch size, approx)
Slightly roll them little bigger.
Take a tbsp of the prepared filling and cover all sides by smearing a little water and pressing.
Finally, give them a butter wash (or egg wash for egg eaters).
Bake in a preheated oven for 15-20 mins at 350 deg, until golden brown.

6 Responses to “Veggie Puffs”

  1. Sangeetha said

    Hey Sneha,

    You have a nice blog going. Keep it up. By the way I was so thrilled when I read about janatha hotel and 8th cross, because I am from Malleshwaram too. It’s such a lovely place to stay. So nostalgic. Well…..nice to come across you and your blog.

  2. Sneha said

    Hi Sangeetha,

    Thanks for passing by my blog. Glad to know you are from the same place too. Yes, Malleswaram is a very lovely place to stay. You have a very nice blog too….hoping to see more recipes from you!

    Cheers,
    Sneha

  3. Santosh said

    Hey Sneha / sangeetha

    Thanks for this recipe Sneha – I should say I miss the potato buns and the puffs from Iyengar bakeries ofcourse the apple cakes too – and veena stores is still a success story on Margosa Road 🙂 – I am almost from malleswaram – but I live in Rajajinagar – Bangalore is heaven for me – I miss it every day and I was looking for veggie puff recipe – will make some and share my experience.

    Thanks again

  4. Shobha said

    Hi everyone,
    I am also from bangalore. I have been living in New Zealand for past 5 years . Like all of u i also miss Bangalore food. Veena Stores are really superb. Shopping in malleswaram is totally a differnt experience. I miss bangalore very much.
    Thanks.

  5. Raman said

    Hi everyone,

    Nice to see that the first thing people remember about Malleshwaram is FOOD .. well I am also from malleshwaram and I can never forget the food that I used ..
    Janata Hotel, Veena stores , New krishna bhavan for the variety of food like Green button idlis, ragi dosa ..
    CTR — my favorite for its Benne masala .. man, just thinking of it makes my mouth water
    I have been in the US for the past few years .. and not a day passes by w/o thinling about all the chats and food that I used to eat.

    Thanks

  6. tina said

    great puffs!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
