Kadambam – My Recipe Book

A collection of Vegetarian recipes

Methi Malai Matar

Posted by Sneha on March 23, 2007

Atlanta, a growing metro, has a vast selection of Indian restaurants and groceries. We used to eat out quite often while we were there. And most of the times, if I like something, I would go in search of the recipe. Thats how the Methi Malai Matar came into my recipe repository! I had this at a small restaurant called “Dhaba” and my search for the recipe started immediately. After a lot of searching and trial and error, I finally settled on this recipe. It has a creamy taste and texture, yet spicy and aromatic too. Any time I make this dish, my friends end up asking for the recipe. It is deee-lish!!

img_2557c.jpg

Ingredients:

For 4-5 servings

1 bunch of fresh methi leaves
1 cup green peas
1/2 tsp Dhaniya Powder
1/2 tsp roasted jeera powder
1/4 tsp kasoori methi
1/2 tsp sugar
Salt to taste
Oil

For grinding:

1 big onion
8-10 green chillies
1/2 tsp ging-gar paste
7-8 cashew pieces
1 tsp fresh curd/yogurt
1 tbsp fresh cream/milk

Method:

1. Grind together Onions, cashews, ging-gar paste, cream(milk) and yougurt.
2. Heat oil and slightly fry the green peas .
3. Heat oil and saute the finely chopped methi leaves until tender.
4. Keep the methi leaves separate.
5. Heat 2- tbsps oil and add the ground mixture.
6. Let it boil for 8-10 mins.
7. Add the dhaniya powder,roasted jeera powder, sugar and salt.
8. Simmer for 5-8 mins.
9. Add the methi leaves, simmer (abt 2-3 mins)
9. Finally add Kasoori methi and green peas and simmer on low fire for 2-3 mins.

Enjoy with chapathi, roti or naan!

12 Responses to “Methi Malai Matar”

  1. Chandrika said

    Good recipe, Sneha! Looks yummy! U have a wonderful blog and I will keep visiting! 🙂

  2. Sneha said

    Thanks and welcome to my blog Chandrika!

  3. sandeepa said

    Happy Ugadi Swapna
    Good recipe, Is that all the cream it takes ? I was always afraid of this as I thought it takes a lot of malai/cream

  4. Sneha said

    Thanks, Happy Ugadi to you too, Sandeepa! (BTW, I am Sneha :-)). Yes, thats all the cream it needs. Try it without any fear!

  5. sandeepa said

    Hee hee..thats what happens when there are so many “S” around 🙂 Sorry for the slip

  6. Sneha said

    Understandable, Sandeepa! :-).Thanks for dropping by my blog. Hope you try the Methi malai matar, it tastes wonderful!

  7. Trupti said

    Hi Sneha,

    This is a lovely recipe…I guess I can substitute spinach for this too..I am not that fond of methi. thanks for sharing this one…

    cheers, T

  8. Sneha said

    Trupti,
    Thanks, good to see you back! I guess you can try with spinach, I never thought about it. If you do try, let me know how it turns out! Have a great day!

  9. Atimber said

    Hi Babbu,

    The dishes displayed are mouth watering at the very look itself. It must taste grate when some body eats them.

    Arvi will be a good company for you when she comes there, both in getting them ready and in eating. But I will be only an on looker.

  10. Sneha said

    Atimber! What a surprise! Hmm….thank you very much for your kind and encouraging words…with that, and Amma and Atthe’s recipes, I hope to biuld the Iyengar recipes section here…Thank you very much for visiting. We are all eagerly waiting for u guys to come here!

  11. vasswa said

    Hi Sneha,

    Excellent recipe. I tried it and it turned out pretty good.
    My family relished it!

    Thank you

  12. sunita suri said

    while reading ,iwasfeeling taste.when i cooked methi matter malai it was realy yammy& mouth watering

Leave a Reply

 
